Cyberduck Mountain Duck CLI

#10036 closed enhancement (worksforme)

S3 permissions for overwriten files

Reported by: atakacs Owned by:
Priority: normal Milestone: 6.3
Component: s3 Version: 6.2
Severity: minor Keywords:
Cc: atakacs@… Architecture: Intel
Platform: macOS 10.12

Description (last modified by dkocher)

Hi

Not sure if it is a bug or a feature but if I replace a file in an S3 bucket it will loose it's ACL. I would really appreciate a way for CyberDuck put back the same ACL as the file being replaced.

At the moment Preferences → Transfers → Permissions → Upload → Change Permissions - Uploads Change Permissions is unchecked

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed on Nov 1, 2017 at 2:18:59 PM by dkocher

  • Description modified (diff)

comment:2 Changed on Nov 1, 2017 at 2:20:41 PM by dkocher

  • Milestone set to 6.3
  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from new to closed

Make sure the Change Permissions options is checked which will apply the ACLs of the file that is overwritten.

comment:3 Changed on Nov 1, 2017 at 8:32:31 PM by atakacs

  • Cc atakacs@… added

I have tried your suggestion and it seems to work - thanks.

That being said at the moment the UI suggest that Cyberduck will apply the uploaded file permission to match the one of the local file. I don't see how this would be useful (as there is no obvious mapping between the local and remote users) and I suggest to change the wording to "maintain whatever existing permission was set to the remote file being overwritten".

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.
swiss made software