Cyberduck Mountain Duck CLI

#10484 closed defect (worksforme)

Directories still showing when delete marker present

Reported by: cpharvey Owned by: yla
Priority: normal Milestone: 6.9.4
Component: s3 Version: 6.8.0
Severity: normal Keywords: delete marker
Cc: Architecture: Intel
Platform: macOS 10.14

Description

Even with "show hidden files" turned off, when the contents of a folder are deleted where each object is listed along with it's delete marker, the folder heirachy above shows in the client like it's still present.

Surely by turning off "show hidden files", these empty (delete marked) folders should not show up?

Change History (10)

comment:1 Changed on Oct 4, 2018 at 1:48:26 PM by dkocher

Are you referring to versioned objects in S3?

comment:2 Changed on Oct 4, 2018 at 1:48:35 PM by dkocher

  • Summary changed from Directories still showing in cyberduck and mountainduck when delete marker present to Directories still showing when delete marker present

comment:3 Changed on Oct 5, 2018 at 10:13:52 AM by cpharvey

Yes, after some further research it's related to versioning.

So within a bucket, if I create a folder (at least what looks like a folder anyway), and populate it with files. With versioning turned on, I then delete those files and the containing folder. They all get versioned and have a "delete marker" present.

If I then disable "show hidden files", the contained files will disappear, but the folders are still visible. If I enable "show hidden files", then both folders and files are visible.

Surely the behavior should be that the folders are also not visible when you disable "show hidden files"? After all, they've been deleted, versioned and have "delete marker" present also?

comment:4 Changed on Nov 22, 2018 at 9:56:39 AM by dkocher

  • Component changed from core to s3
  • Milestone set to 7.0
  • Owner set to yla

comment:5 Changed on Jan 13, 2019 at 8:54:23 PM by dkocher

  • Milestone changed from 7.0 to 6.9.0

comment:6 Changed on Jan 16, 2019 at 7:49:56 AM by dkocher

  • Milestone changed from 6.9.0 to 7.0

Ticket retargeted after milestone closed

comment:7 Changed on Feb 26, 2019 at 9:32:27 AM by yla

Can you please check and report back if the issue still persists in the latest version as we have changed the handling of versioned objects?

comment:8 follow-up: Changed on Feb 26, 2019 at 10:52:27 AM by cpharvey

Sure, which version do you want me to test. Currently I have 6.9.3 (30061).

comment:9 in reply to: ↑ 8 Changed on Feb 26, 2019 at 3:51:16 PM by dkocher

Replying to cpharvey:

Sure, which version do you want me to test. Currently I have 6.9.3 (30061).

Can you confirm you still see the issue with this version.

comment:10 Changed on Mar 12, 2019 at 9:58:31 PM by dkocher

  • Milestone changed from 7.0 to 6.9.4
  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from new to closed
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.
swiss made software