Cyberduck Mountain Duck CLI

#1927 closed defect (worksforme)

Cyberduck moves file to trash

Reported by: temhawk@hotmail.com Owned by: dkocher
Priority: normal Milestone: 3.0
Component: core Version: 2.8.5
Severity: normal Keywords: .duck file moved copied to trash when connecting to a favorite
Cc: Architecture:
Platform:

Description

Hi, I am not sure if this is a bug or not, but it seems odd to me.

I just updated to the most recent version of Cyberduck and when I wanted to connect to one of my favorites (listed in the drawer) it asked me to transfer permissions for keychain or something like that. I clicked yes, and then it started connecting. But at the same time it moved a file to the trash with the name of the name of my favorite connection and ".duck" as the file extension.

I restarted Cyberduck and connected to the server again, and it moved that same file to the trash again, even though I had already emptied the trash before. Is this known to you? Is it normal?

thanks for making cyberduck,

  • temhawk :)

Change History (5)

comment:1 follow-up: Changed on Apr 11, 2008 at 6:29:07 AM by anonymous

  • Keywords copied added
  • Priority changed from low to normal
  • Severity changed from minor to normal

I'm noticing this under 2.8.5 too. When connecting to the bookmark, the .duck bookmark file is copied to the trash. After connecting, every directory that I navigate to is then copied to the trash (just the directory, not the files within), and every file that I open to edit is copied to the trash.

These files are only being copied to the trash and at no point are they ever removed from the server. The bookmark itself, despite being initially copied to the trash, never leaves Cyberduck's drawer.

This happened after I updated to Cyberduck 2.8.5 from 2.8.4 using the built-in updater.

If you don't mind, I'd like to bump the priority and severity of this bug up to at least "normal", since the action of copying directories to the trash may alarm new users.

Thanks for continuing to develop Cyberduck! I'm really looking looking forward to version 3!

comment:2 in reply to: ↑ 1 Changed on Apr 11, 2008 at 5:27:07 PM by dkocher

  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from new to closed

Replying to anonymous:

Edited files are always moved to the Trash after the editor is closed. We don't delete them immediately to prevent data loss if the upload to the server has failed. The file can then still be recovered.

Temporary bookmarks from the history are no longer moved to the Trash in 3.0.

comment:3 follow-up: Changed on Apr 11, 2008 at 5:30:40 PM by temhawk@hotmail.com

dkocher, you mean Cyberduck 3.0 ?

comment:4 in reply to: ↑ 3 Changed on Apr 11, 2008 at 5:34:59 PM by dkocher

Replying to temhawk@hotmail.com:

dkocher, you mean Cyberduck 3.0 ?

Right.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.