Cyberduck Mountain Duck CLI

#3264 closed enhancement (fixed)

Editor Files Moved To Trash

Reported by: pcsyndicate Owned by: dkocher
Priority: normal Milestone: 3.2.1
Component: core Version: 3.2
Severity: normal Keywords:
Cc: Architecture:
Platform:

Description

By default behavior, CyberDuck moves files from a temporary folder to the Trash whenever an Editor is closed (when the editor is used to edit a file that resides on the server). This is a fine feature, but it can get annoying on a day to day basis where I edit a lot of files on my server using CyberDuck and my editor, and then have a collection of files sitting in my trash when done. What I would like to propose is an option in the Preferences to permanently delete those files, instead of moving them to the trash, upon successful upload to the server. Thus, the workflow would go as such:

  • Edit a file from the server via CyberDuck
  • Save the file (the file gets uploaded back to the server, via CyberDuck
  • Close the editor.
  • CyberDuck sees the file hasn't changed since the last upload, so it has to decide what to do with the temporary file.
  • If the preferences say move to Trash, then move the file to Trash.
  • If the preferences say delete the file, then permanently delete the file.

Could this be added as a feature? I am severely OCD about keeping my Trash empty, and I hate it getting unecessarily cluttered. Thanks!

Change History (1)

comment:1 Changed on Jun 26, 2009 at 3:03:41 PM by dkocher

  • Milestone set to 3.2.1
  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

As of r4866, set the property editor.file.trash to false using

defaults write ch.sudo.cyberduck editor.file.trash false

This will cause the edited file to be deleted instantly.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.
swiss made software