Cyberduck Mountain Duck CLI

#5305 closed defect (wontfix)

Unsecured FTP Connection warning dialog box

Reported by: https://www.google.com/accounts/o8/id?id=aitoawlfvjteez-nzlgurbt2nrmrrwcklqluefk Owned by: dkocher
Priority: highest Milestone: 3.7
Component: ftp-tls Version: 3.6.1
Severity: blocker Keywords:
Cc: Architecture: Intel
Platform: Mac OS X 10.6

Description

CD is now breaking and wrecking my bookmarks.

I connect to a bookmark I've had for years and get a Warning dialog:

Unsecured FTP Connection The server supports encrypted connections. Do you want to switch to FTP-SSL?

Clicking "Don't Show again" breaks the bookmark and puts a lock icon on it. It never connects again: just complains about the certificate being bad after that.

Presence of a VALID SSL Certificate should be VERIFIED Before offering to switch to FTP-SSL mode - NOT After!

All the user knows is that if he doesn't click the "Continue" button CD permanently breaks his bookmark. I've had to switch to FileZilla to Maintain some of my sites: the ones I clicked "Don't Show again" on!

Not every server that SUPPORTS FTP-SSL HAS a SSL Certificate: and CD is making wrong assumptions and breaking my bookmarks connectivity.

I Hate this intrusive and disruptive "New Feature" ...

Attachments (2)

Screen shot 2010-10-03 at 10.23.24 AM.png (25.8 KB) - added by https://www.google.com/accounts/o8/id?id=aitoawlfvjteez-nzlgurbt2nrmrrwcklqluefk on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:06:01 AM.
This damn box pesters me every time I open a Bookmark! And If I click "Don't Show again" it permantly Breaks my Bookmark!! Very Bad Behaviour!
Screen shot 2010-10-03 at 10.24.13 AM.png (49.6 KB) - added by https://www.google.com/accounts/o8/id?id=aitoawlfvjteez-nzlgurbt2nrmrrwcklqluefk on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:10:25 AM.
The Crippled Bookmark forever complains about being unable to connect to the Server. This Check should be done BEFORE that other dialog box EVEN Shows Up! NOT After it Has RUINED the Bookmark forever!

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (10)

Changed on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:06:01 AM by https://www.google.com/accounts/o8/id?id=aitoawlfvjteez-nzlgurbt2nrmrrwcklqluefk

This damn box pesters me every time I open a Bookmark! And If I click "Don't Show again" it permantly Breaks my Bookmark!! Very Bad Behaviour!

Changed on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:10:25 AM by https://www.google.com/accounts/o8/id?id=aitoawlfvjteez-nzlgurbt2nrmrrwcklqluefk

The Crippled Bookmark forever complains about being unable to connect to the Server. This Check should be done BEFORE that other dialog box EVEN Shows Up! NOT After it Has RUINED the Bookmark forever!

comment:1 follow-up: Changed on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:25:37 AM by dkocher

To completly disable this feature set the hidden configuration option

defaults write ch.sudo.cyberduck connection.unsecure.switch false

comment:2 Changed on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:32:03 AM by dkocher

  • Component changed from core to ftp-tls
  • Milestone set to 3.7
  • Owner set to dkocher

comment:3 in reply to: ↑ description Changed on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:33:58 AM by dkocher

Replying to https://www.google.com/accounts/o8/id?id=aitoawlfvjteez-nzlgurbt2nrmrrwcklqluefk:

Clicking "Don't Show again" breaks the bookmark and puts a lock icon on it. It never connects again:

This issue is a duplicate for #5237.

comment:4 in reply to: ↑ description Changed on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:35:18 AM by dkocher

Replying to https://www.google.com/accounts/o8/id?id=aitoawlfvjteez-nzlgurbt2nrmrrwcklqluefk:

All the user knows is that if he doesn't click the "Continue" button CD permanently breaks his bookmark. I've had to switch to FileZilla to Maintain some of my sites: the ones I clicked "Don't Show again" on!

Just edit the bookmark and change back the protocol option to FTP (File Transfer Protocol).

comment:5 Changed on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:39:09 AM by dkocher

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

We cannot verify the certificate before. You can still sucessfully connect to the server with the bad certificate if you trust it. Choose Show Certificate and select to trust the certificate permamently (it will save that trust setting in your Keychain). There you will also see more information about what the problem is with the ceritificate. If you want a valid ceritificate, contact your hosting service provider.

comment:6 in reply to: ↑ 1 ; follow-up: Changed on Jan 3, 2014 at 1:22:07 AM by daniel jacoby

Replying to dkocher:

To completly disable this feature set the hidden configuration option

defaults write ch.sudo.cyberduck connection.unsecure.switch false

I'm trying to stop the "Unsecured FTP connection" dialog box definitively as well, but the command line provided by dkocher is not working for me. I'm running Version 4.4 (13582) on MacOSX 10.9 (Mavericks).

comment:7 in reply to: ↑ 6 ; follow-up: Changed on Jan 3, 2014 at 1:38:35 PM by dkocher

Replying to daniel jacoby:

Replying to dkocher:

To completly disable this feature set the hidden configuration option

defaults write ch.sudo.cyberduck connection.unsecure.switch false

I'm trying to stop the "Unsecured FTP connection" dialog box definitively as well, but the command line provided by dkocher is not working for me. I'm running Version 4.4 (13582) on MacOSX 10.9 (Mavericks).

The property has been changed to be protocol dependant. For FTP, use

defaults write ch.sudo.cyberduck connection.unsecure.warning.ftp false

comment:8 in reply to: ↑ 7 Changed on Jan 3, 2014 at 2:07:20 PM by daniel jacoby

Thanks, dkocher, but it's not working. I still get prompt the same warning. :(

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.
swiss made software