Cyberduck Mountain Duck CLI

#7724 closed defect (fixed)

Upon saving edited file, existing file gets deleted even when it couldn't upload the new file

Reported by: arencambre Owned by: dkocher
Priority: normal Milestone: 4.4.4
Component: ftp Version: 4.4.3
Severity: critical Keywords:
Cc: aren@arencambre.com Architecture: Intel
Platform: Windows 8

Description

It appears that when you edit a file by hitting Edit in Cyberduck, then save a new copy of that file in the editor, the following happens:

  1. Cyberduck detects a change to the file
  2. Cyberduck uploads a copy of the file with a GUID attached to the end of the filename.
  3. Cyberduck deletes the original file from the server.
  4. Cyberduck renames the version with the GUID back to the original name by removing that GUID.

I had a situation today on an IIS 8 server where, due to a problem with SSL configuration on FTPS (FTP+SSL), file uploads did not work. That is not the issue; the issue is even though the file uploads did not work, Cyberduck still proceeds with the edit change process by deleting the file and then renaming--oops, there's no file to rename! End result is that if you edit a file and then save it, it got deleted off the server (!).

Attached is a screenshot of the log drawer where you can see that Cyberduck got a 550 error. Cyberduck should have stopped IMMEDIATELY upon seeing the 550 error and warn the user! Unfortunately, Cyberduck did not stop, and it did not report anything to the user. If the log drawer was not opened, the only way I know something happened is that the file went missing.

Attachments (1)

error.png (22.1 KB) - added by arencambre on Jan 8, 2014 at 10:34:10 PM.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (4)

Changed on Jan 8, 2014 at 10:34:10 PM by arencambre

comment:1 Changed on Jan 9, 2014 at 8:43:51 PM by dkocher

  • Component changed from core to ftp
  • Milestone set to 4.4.4
  • Owner set to dkocher
  • Status changed from new to assigned

comment:2 Changed on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:00:33 PM by dkocher

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from assigned to closed

In r14189.

comment:3 Changed on Jan 12, 2014 at 9:01:44 PM by dkocher

  • Summary changed from Upon saving edited file, Cyberduck delete existing file even when it couldn't upload the new file to Upon saving edited file, existing file gets deleted even when it couldn't upload the new file
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.