Cyberduck Mountain Duck CLI

#8456 closed defect (worksforme)

Unchecking upload with temporary filename preference does not take effect

Reported by: vigorouscoding Owned by: dkocher
Priority: normal Milestone: 4.6.2
Component: ftp Version: 4.6.1
Severity: normal Keywords:
Cc: Architecture:
Platform: Mac OS X 10.10

Description

Newer versions of Cyberduck do something interesting on file upload. They STOR the file to "filename-hashvalue", then DELE the "filename", the RNFR "filename-hashvalue" and RNTO "file". (I have not checked any versions between 4.2.1 and 4.5.2 - version 4.5.2+ has the aforementioned behavior)

In version 4.2.1 that was different and IMHO the simple STOR "filename" which is used in 4.2.1 should suffice completely.

I'd understand if this seems to be some kind of failsafe but I'd like to see the original behavior restored or a settings switch where one would be able to switch back to the "old" behavior.

Attachments (1)

log.txt (5.3 KB) - added by vigorouscoding on Jan 4, 2015 at 10:10:27 AM.
Log Output for downloading and saving a file

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (5)

Changed on Jan 4, 2015 at 10:10:27 AM by vigorouscoding

Log Output for downloading and saving a file

comment:1 Changed on Jan 4, 2015 at 10:35:14 AM by vigorouscoding

Oh - I forgot: The Setting "Upload with temporary filename" (in "Transfers"->General) is not checked. (this seemed to be the switch I was looking for but I don't know what it is for. It does not affect the behavior at all.)

comment:2 Changed on Jan 4, 2015 at 11:24:43 AM by dkocher

  • Milestone set to 4.6.2
  • Summary changed from File upload strange in newer versions to Unchecking upload with temporary filename preference does not take effect

comment:3 Changed on Jan 5, 2015 at 1:37:05 PM by dkocher

  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from new to closed

I cannot reproduce this issue. Unchecking the option will override without delete and rename.

comment:4 Changed on Jan 6, 2015 at 11:39:14 AM by vigorouscoding

After removing my preferences completely unchecking the switch works as expected now - sorry that I didn't test that beforehand

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.
swiss made software