Cyberduck Mountain Duck CLI

#9298 closed defect (fixed)

Files still get deleted when using "Overwrite"

Reported by: steveooo Owned by:
Priority: highest Milestone: 4.8.2
Component: core Version: 4.8
Severity: critical Keywords:
Cc: Architecture: Intel
Platform: Mac OS X 10.11

Description

Files, that exists and would be overwritten (from remote to local) still get deleted on local! This is critical and makes the FTP client unusable for our whole agency.

I thought this was fixed!

Change History (16)

comment:1 Changed on Feb 25, 2016 at 12:57:45 AM by miguelrogonzo

I thought this was fixed too. I am using the snapshot builds, so I am pretty sure that I am using the latest version, but I still have this issue.

comment:2 Changed on Feb 25, 2016 at 1:18:31 PM by dkocher

Do you refer to #9130?.

comment:3 Changed on Feb 25, 2016 at 2:17:25 PM by steveooo

Yes, this is the described issue. On some dublicate ticket of this issue someone created a time ago, it was said that it was resolved in the latest version. Now I thought it would be fixed in 4.8, because it is crucial and makes it unusable.

comment:4 Changed on Feb 25, 2016 at 2:44:25 PM by dkocher

The issue is supposed to be fixed and I can no longer reproduce it here. The workaround would be to set the option Existing Files to Overwrite in Preferences → Transfers → Downloads.

comment:5 Changed on Feb 25, 2016 at 2:45:05 PM by dkocher

Can you confirm you are running version 4.8 (19033).

comment:6 follow-up: Changed on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:03:28 PM by miguelrogonzo

I am on 4.8 (19026) I set the updates to look for Snapshot Builds. Now I see part of the problem: as steveooo pointed out, in one of the duplicate tickets someone wrote that switching to snapshot builds would solve the issue, and so I tried. However, snapshot builds got me as far as 19026, but now I tried to go back to "Release" and I got the update to 19033.

Last edited on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:05:31 PM by miguelrogonzo (previous) (diff)

comment:7 in reply to: ↑ 6 Changed on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:07:29 PM by dkocher

Replying to miguelrogonzo:

I am on 4.8 (19026) I set the updates to look for Snapshot Builds. Now I see part of the problem: as steveooo pointed out, in one of the duplicate tickets someone wrote that switching to snapshot builds would solve the issue, and so I tried. However, snapshot builds got me as far as 19026, but now I tried to go back to "Release" and I got the update to 19033.

There should be no difference between these builds regarding this issue.

comment:8 follow-up: Changed on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:20:56 PM by steveooo

I am on Version 4.8 (19033).

I think I got the bug: When setting Existing Files to Overwrite in Preferences → Transfers → Downloads., like you said, it won't delete it. IF I set it to Prompt (because I want it to ask me before doing something), then the options window with "Overwrite" preselected appears but then the files get removed! So there is some issue with "Prompt" + "Overwrite"!

Can you reproduce it?

Last edited on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:50:41 PM by steveooo (previous) (diff)

comment:9 in reply to: ↑ 8 Changed on Feb 25, 2016 at 4:56:47 PM by dkocher

Replying to steveooo:

I am on Version 4.8 (19033).

I think I got the bug: When setting Existing Files to Overwrite in Preferences → Transfers → Downloads., like you said, it won't delete it. IF I set it to Prompt (because I want it to ask me before doing something), then the options window with "Overwrite" preselected appears but then the files get removed! So there is some issue with "Prompt" + "Overwrite"!

Can you reproduce it?

When choosing Overwrite in the prompt it will move the files to the Trash instead of overwriting. The bug was that trashing was delayed in a previous implementation used causing it to trash the newly downloaded file in some cases. This should no longer occur with the fix in r19157 but apparently this is still an issue for some.

comment:10 Changed on Feb 26, 2016 at 4:32:43 PM by dkocher

  • Milestone set to 5.0
  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

Disabled trash feature in r19473.

comment:11 Changed on Feb 27, 2016 at 1:53:54 AM by steveooo

Can this be released as a quick bugfix release and not for the next major release? Such think is crucial and makes Cyberduck it unusable for some people.

comment:12 Changed on Feb 27, 2016 at 4:15:13 PM by dkocher

Please update to the latest snapshot build available.

comment:13 Changed on Feb 29, 2016 at 8:52:12 AM by dkocher

  • Milestone changed from 5.0 to 4.8.2

comment:14 follow-up: Changed on Feb 29, 2016 at 5:14:09 PM by steveooo

4.8.1 was released today. When will 4.8.2 with this bugfix be released?

comment:15 in reply to: ↑ 14 Changed on Feb 29, 2016 at 7:44:19 PM by dkocher

Replying to steveooo:

4.8.1 was released today. When will 4.8.2 with this bugfix be released?

4.8.2 is now available.

comment:16 Changed on Mar 1, 2016 at 1:09:12 AM by steveooo

Thanks! It seems to work now!

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.
swiss made software