Cyberduck Mountain Duck CLI

#9658 closed defect (worksforme)

Re-authenticating When Overwriting Files When Already Logged In

Reported by: danpoynor Owned by:
Priority: high Milestone: 5.1
Component: core Version: 5.0.11
Severity: major Keywords: keychain, login, authentication, authenticating
Cc: Architecture: Intel
Platform: Mac OS X 10.5

Description

When uploading using SFTP, Cyberduck checks to see if the filename already exists. To do that Cyberduck has to be logged in.

After logging in using my keychain credentials, if Cyberduck finds another file with the same name already exists a panel opens with Overwrite selected in the drop-down menu, a list of files that'll be overwritten, plus the panel shows an "Authenticating as ..." message for a second (or two seconds on a slow client server) next to the Cancel and Continue buttons and path details below that.

Since Cyberduck is already authenticated (logged in using keychain) why does it need to authenticate a second time?

If I click "Continue" without waiting for the second connection to authenticate then another dialog box appears saying "Login failed" with my username and an empty Password field and the "Add to Keychain" checkbox checked, even though it's already using my keychain store password since I can just click on a bookmark without seeing a login dialog.

The file is still overwritten even if I don't wait for the dialog box to authenticate the second time. I just have to click Cancel in the Login Failed dialog box and then I get a empty Overwrite dialog box which can't be dismissed unless I quit Cyberduck.

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed on Aug 19, 2016 at 11:44:48 AM by dkocher

Can you please post the transcript from the log drawer of the Transfers window. Please open the log drawer before attempting the file transfer.

comment:2 Changed on Aug 19, 2016 at 6:07:57 PM by danpoynor

1 OPENDIR
2 READDIR
3 READDIR
4 CLOSE
5 OPEN
6 WRITE
7 WRITE
8 WRITE
9 WRITE
10 WRITE
11 WRITE
12 WRITE
13 WRITE
14 WRITE
15 CLOSE

Last edited on Aug 24, 2016 at 2:03:27 PM by dkocher (previous) (diff)

comment:3 Changed on Aug 24, 2016 at 2:22:34 PM by dkocher

  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from new to closed

As a workaround, please switch to Open new connection instead of the default Open multiple connections for file transfers.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.
swiss made software