Cyberduck Mountain Duck CLI

Cyberduck Help / Howto / Mountain Duck / Sync

This is preliminary information for upcoming Mountain Duck 3. You can update to the public beta by switching to Beta in the Update tab in Preferences.

The smart sync feature allows to make files available offline. You can also choose to make explicitly all or only selected files and folders available for offline use. Changes to files are saved in a local cache first and uploaded in the background as soon as a connection is available.

Bookmark Options

You can change the synchronization options for a bookmark in Mount Options.

  • Default. Use setting from Preferences
  • Online. Do not synchronize any files to your computer. You can only access this volume when a connection is possible to the server or cloud storage. Files are accessed on demand from the remote when opened and do not take up any local disk space.
  • Smart Synchronization. Files opened are made available for later offline access. You can explicitly make files available offline using the context menu.

Status of files

Files and folders on a mounted volume have a status icon overlay in File Explorer (Windows) and Finder (macOS).

Please make sure to enable the Mountain Duck Integration in System Preferences → Extensions → Finder on macOS.

Up to Date. The file or the contents of a directory has been opened and downloaded to your computer and therefore currently synced with the server or cloud storage. The file takes disk space on your computer and can always be opened even when no connection to the server or cloud storage is possible. New files in a directory on the remote server will appear as Online Only and are not downloaded automatically.

In Sync. The file or directory is selected to be synced with the server or cloud storage to always keep offline. The file takes disk space on your computer and can always be opened even when no connection to the server or cloud storage is possible. New files in a directory on the remote server will be downloaded automatically.

Online Only. The file can only be opened when a connection to the server or cloud storage can be made. The file does not take any disk space on your computer. The file is downloaded on demand when you open it.

Sync in Progress. The file or directory is currently synced with the server or cloud storage.

Sync Error. There was an error updating the file after changes. You are missing permission to write to the file or another problem occured. Please contact your web hosting service provider for assistance. To resolve the error, move the file to your local disk and reload the directory.

Ignored. The file is only saved in a local temporary location and never synced to the server or cloud storage.

Context Menu Options

Please make sure to enable the Mountain Duck Integration in System Preferences → Extensions → Finder on macOS.

Select files and folders to always keep offline

You can choose to make files and folders available offline in the context menu. Right-click on a file or folder in File Explorer (Windows) or Finder (macOS). Refer to Finder Extension & Windows File Explorer Extension.

  • Choose Sync Options → Keep Offline on Local Disk to make the file available offline. The status of the file will change to In Sync.
  • Choose Sync Options → Delete on Local Disk to delete the offline copy. The status of the file will change to Online Only.

Sync Conflicts

A conflict may be caused by two or more users editing the same files at the same time or while on the road before the files are synced. We do not merge changes to files like version control systems do. The file with conflicting edits will be renamed with the current time added to the filename. You will have to compare the changes manually and delete the duplicate file afterwards.

Sync Progress

Changes to files are uploaded in the background as soon as a connection is available. Progress is reported by animating the status bar icon and a menu item titled Sync in Progress.

Pause Sync

You can manually pause background syncing by selecting Pause Sync in the submenu for the sync status. Syncing is also paused automatically when your network connection to the server is interrupted but resumed automatically when a connection is restored.

The paused sync status is indicated with a greyed-out icon in the tray (Windows) or status bar (macOS).

Preferences

You can change the default synchronization options for all bookmarks in Preferences.

Last modified 4 weeks ago Last modified on Nov 19, 2018 10:33:44 AM

Attachments (12)

Download all attachments as: .zip

swiss made software