Cyberduck Mountain Duck CLI

Version 7 (modified by dkocher, on May 10, 2018 at 9:01:03 AM) (diff)

--

Cyberduck Help / Howto / Mountain Duck / Sync

This is preliminary information for upcoming Mountain Duck 3

The selective sync feature allows to make files available offline. Changes to files are saved in a local cache first and uploaded in the background as soon as a connection is available.

Bookmark Options

You can change the synchronization options for a bookmark in Mount Options.

  • Default. Use setting from Preferences
  • Online. Do not synchronise any files to your computer. You can only access this volume when a connection is possible to the server or cloud storage. Files are accessed on demand from the remote when opened and do not take up any local disk space.
  • On Demand Synchronization. Files opened are made available for later offline access. You can explicitly make files available offline using the context menu.
  • Full Synchronization. Always make all files available offline. This option will index all folders and download all files to your computer for offline access.

Status of files

Files and folders on a mounted volume have a status icon overlay in File Explorer (Windows) and Finder (macOS) if sync is enabled for the bookmark.

  • In Sync.. The file or directory is currently synced with the server or cloud storage. The file takes disk space on your computer and can always be opened even when no connection to the server or cloud storage is possible.
  • Online Only. The file can only be opened when a connection to the server or cloud storage can be made. The file does not take any disk space on your computer. The file is downloaded on demand when you open it.
  • Sync in Progress. The file or directory is currently synced with the server or cloud storage.
  • Sync Error. There was an error updating the file after changes. You are missing permission to write to the file or another problem occured. Please contact your web hosting service provider for assistance. To resolve the error, move the file to your local disk and reload the directory.
  • Ignored. The file is only saved in a local temporary location and never synced to the server or cloud storage.

Change sync option for files and folders

You can choose to make files and folders available offline in the context menu. Right-click on a file or folder in File Explorer (Windows) or Finder (macOS). Refer to Finder Extension & Windows File Explorer Extension.

  • Choose Sync Options → Keep Offline on Local Disk to make the file available offline. The status of the file will change to _In Sync_.
  • Choose Sync Options → Delete on Local Disk to delete the offline copy. The status of the file will change to _Online Only_.

Sync Conflicts

A conflict may be caused by two or more users editing the same files at the same time or while on the road before the files are synced. We do not merge changes to files like version control systems do. The file with conflicting edits will be renamed with the current time added to the filename. You will have to compare the changes manually and delete the duplicate file afterwards.

Preferences

You can change the default synchronization options for all bookmarks in Preferences.

No image "Sync Preferences.png" attached to help/en/howto/mount/sync

swiss made software