Cyberduck Mountain Duck CLI

Cyberduck Help / Howto / File Transfers

The Transfers window lists pending and completed transfers. The list is retained when quitting and relaunching the application allowing you to keep transfers like bookmarks and transfer again at a later time if the content has possibly changed.

Resume and Reload

Resume will try to finish a transfer previously interrupted. Note: Some servers may not support resumable transfers and the file will be reloaded instead.

Interrupt

You can interrupt a transfer using the Stop toolbar button.

Open downloaded files

Use the Open toolbar button to open a downloaded file or folder.A warning might be displayed before opening the file. See the download quarantine.

Show downloaded files

Using the Show in Finder toolbar button, files are shown in Finder.app.

Progress

If the Transfers window is closed, progress is also visible in the application icon in the Taskbar.

Bandwidth

Limit the maximum bandwidth that is allowed for transfers. Useful when you don't want transfers to take all the bandwidth available on your internet connection that would slow down other connections. Use the drop down menu in the lower right of the transfer window to set the maximum bandwidth allowed by the selected transfer. The default setting is configurable in the Preferences.

Connections

You can choose to use a single or multiple connections for file transfers. Choose Preferences → Transfers → Transfer Files to set the default or for a bookmark in Bookmark → Edit Bookmark → Transfer Files.

  • Open single connection. Use a single connection to transfer files from a transfer sequentially.
  • Open multiple connections. Use multiple connections to transfer files from a transfer concurrently.

Limit number of parallel connections

The maximum number of connections for transfers using multiple connections can be limited using the toggle in the lower right of the transfer window on Windows or the toolbar dropdown on macOS.

The same toggle limits the maximum allowed concurrent transfers in the transfer window.

Transcript

Choose View → Toggle Log Drawer (⌘-L) (Mac) or add the Log item by right-click the toolbar from the Transfers window and choose Log on Windows. Events are only logged once the drawer is open.

Overwrite Prompt

A prompt is displayed if files already exist at the target location (on your local harddisk for downloads or on the server for uploads) and you have selected Prompt in Transfers → General → Downloads/Uploads → Existing Files. The prompt allows to choose the action for existing files. You can exclude selected files and folders from the transfer action by unchecking the checkbox next to it. If the checkbox is not selected, these files will be skipped.

  • Exclamation mark triangle. File size is zero or differs from the existing file.

Overwrite

Replace any existing file restarting the transfer from scratch. Existing files are moved to the trash.

Compare

Skip existing files that match size, modification date or checksum.

Resume

Append to existing files and skip files that match the file size and checksum if available. The following protocols support resume for uploads:

The following protocols support resume for downloads:

Rename

Rename transferred file appending a timestamp to the filename.

Rename existing

Rename existing file at the destination appending a timestamp to the filename.

Skip

Skip transfer of files that already exist.

Preferences

Transfers → General → Browser connection for file transfers

If your server only allows one single connection to be opened for a given user, you'll have to transfer files using the browser connection. This will cause you to stop browsing files and folders while the transfer is in progress. You can choose to Use the browser connection or to a Open a new connection for file transfers in the bookmark setting. The default setting is configurable in the Transfers tab of Preferences.

Transfers → General → Downloads/Uploads → Existing Files

  • Prompt. Asks what action to take for each transfer.
  • Overwrite. Overwrite existing files at the destination
  • Resume. Skip existing files with the same file size and append if file size differs.
  • Rename. Rename transferred file appending a timestamp to the filename.
  • Rename existing. Rename existing file at the destination appending a timestamp to the filename.
  • Skip. Skip all existing files.

Transfers → Filter

Files and folders matching the regular expression in Preferences → Preferences → Advanced will be excluded. Standard PERL regular expressions are used, see Google for more help. The most important qualifiers are:

.	Any character
\d	A digit: [0-9]
\D	A non-digit: [^0-9]
\s	A whitespace character: [ \t\n\x0B\f\r]
\S	A non-whitespace character: [^\s]
\w	A word character: [a-zA-Z_0-9]
\W	A non-word character: [^\w]
XY 	X followed by Y
X|Y	Either X or Y
X? 	X, once or not at all
X*	X, zero or more times
X+	X, one or more times

The default pattern excludes metadata files from common revision control software.

.*~\..*|\.DS_Store|\.svn|CVS

Transfers → General → Transfer Files

Files can be transfered using either the connection from the browser or by opening a new dedicated transfer connection. Using the setting Open new connection will add files to be transferred to the Transfer Window and open a new connection to the server to initiate the transfer. The option Use browser connection will transfer files using the connection from the browser. The file transfer is only reported at the bottom of the browser window without any detailed progress indicator. The transferred files will not get added to the Transfer Window. This setting is a also available per bookmark.

Transfers → Permissions → Downloads

Choose between a default permission mask to apply to downloaded files or to apply the same mask the file has on the server. If unchecked, downloaded files have the default mask for new files created on the local filesystem.

Transfers → Permissions → Uploads

Adjust the permission mask of uploaded files or leave it to the default mask chosen by the server. The setting for permissions apply when connected to a UNIX host using FTP or SFTP. When connected to S3 and Azure this will update the access control list (ACL).

Note: Enabling change of permissions slows down the transfer rate when uploading many files with FTP.

Transfers → Timestamps

Preserve modification date when uploading or downloading files. For synchronization to work, these options must be enabled.

Note: Enabling change of modification date slows down the transfer rate when uploading many files with FTP.

Hidden Preferences

Bandwidth throttle options

A hidden configuration option. Refer to #1746. Edit the available options (in bytes).

defaults write ch.sudo.cyberduck queue.bandwidth.options 102400,1073741824

Badge dock icon

A hidden configuration option. Add a badge with the number of currently running transfers to the dock icon.

defaults write ch.sudo.cyberduck queue.dock.badge true

Prioritize certain files

A hidden configuration option. Use queue.upload.priority.regex and queue.download.priority.regex to determine order. For example

defaults write ch.sudo.cyberduck queue.upload.priority.regex ".*\.html"
Last modified 13 hours ago Last modified on May 21, 2018 11:48:07 AM

Attachments (8)

Download all attachments as: .zip

swiss made software